Pesto, pesto, easy vegan pesto that is so good, I don’t know why people make it any other way! I am regularly told that pesto is usually vegan. Nope, it’s not. Pesto is “usually” made with loads of Parmesan cheese. Now that we are all on the same page, this plant-based pesto is amazing. It’s made with basil and spinach for added veggies and nutrients baby! You can use this vegan pesto as a dip, spread or dressing. It’s so versatile that your other condiments might get jealous. 

clock clock iconcutlery cutlery iconflag flag iconfolder folder iconinstagram instagram iconpinterest pinterest iconfacebook facebook iconprint print iconsquares squares iconheart heart iconheart solid heart solid icon

Vegan Pesto

  • Author: Rae Aflatooni
  • Total Time: 15 minutes
  • Yield: 2 CUPS 1x


Units Scale
  • 2 cups tightly packed basil
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts (or more almonds)
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon Himalayan salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice, freshly squeezed


  1. Put all ingredients in food processor or blender and blend it baby! 
  2. That’s it. It’s done. Easy peasy. 


Try this awesomely delicious plant-based pesto on our Artisan Garlic Loaf or as a pizza sauce on our vegan Pizza Dough!

  • Prep Time: 15 Minutes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recipe rating


  1. Dana Butler says:

    You know Pesto is "vegan" to begin with right?

    1. That may be true in some cases but in my experience people usually make it with at least half of a cup of cheese in it, usually parmesan. That would mean that it is vegetarian not vegan. I have never gone to a restaurant that has made it without the cheese come to think of it.